On Monday 27 September, Macedon Ranges Community Halls Incorporated held their fifth Annual General Meeting at Jubilee Hall.

Representatives from Baynton Hall, Bullengarook Hall,  Gisborne Community Hall, Jubilee Hall, Old Kerrie School, Lauriston Hall, Malmsbury Town Hall and Tylden Hall all attended.

Clarkefield and Bolinda halls were apologies.

The following positions were filled on the night.

President: Joan Donavan – Jubilee Hall

Vic President: Julie Nash – Lauriston Hall

Secretary: Rosemary White – Gisborne Community Hall

Treasurer: Marlene Leckie – Old Kerrie School

In 2016, Council responded to an Audit Committee Report on Section 86 committees and decided to support the establishment of Macedon Ranges Community Halls Incorporated.

This group of community halls have gone from strength to strength. They all look forward to continually working with Council for the best possible outcomes for each of their communities.

These community halls are cultural hubs for the residents to support each other and connect.

Council is looking at opportunities for halls to play a positive role in Covid recovery in their communities.